In other news…

It’s my mom’s birthday!  Happy Birthday Mom – I love you!

 
Also, when I got home from the gym today, I had a copy of “The Best of America’s Test Kitchen 2011” in my front door.  YESSSSS!  I LOVE these cookbooks.  I learn so much about food chemistry and cooking techniques by reading the descriptions of the recipes – if you’re not familiar with the “Cooks Illustrated” and “ATK” family, there is a blurb at the beginning of every recipe describing how various ingredients and/or cooking techniques were chosen to achieve specific flavors and textures.  I also love that the recipes, while generally labor intensive, are generally pretty fail-safe, so I don’t hesitate to make them for other people on the first try!  I’ll probably cook a meal out of the book this weekend – can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

