Making Progress on Burpees

I’m starting to worry that I won’t be able to handle the Impact workouts much longer.  The exercises are getting much more advanced, and I think I am going to have to regress a couple of the exercises coming up in a few weeks (pull-ups?  I don’t think so!).  That being said, however, I am pushing myself harder to try and achieve these more athletic workouts and I’m feeling the results in my muscles and joints.  The best part about this book is the focus on recovery – I think my body would be screaming right now if I wasn’t committed to soft tissue work and a full dynamic warm-up before each workout.

Ah, the Burpee…

Much loved by Crossfit enthusiasts, the Burpee is a very challenging exercise (in my opinion) that requires total body strength and cardio endurance.  Searching the internet for a good video, I found that LOTS of people are starting to incorporate Burpees into their regular routines.  There is a good description of the exercise, some variations, and it’s benefits here.

If you’re fit like this guy, your Burpees look something like this:

 

Mine do not.

In fact, I have not done Burpees since the high school soccer team back in (gasp!) 1998-ish.  Yikes.  When I saw that they were a part of Week 3 of the Impact workouts, I was apprehensive to say the least.  The workout calls for 10 Burpees as part of a circuit that includes two other high intensity, lower body exercises.  Realizing this, apprehensive became a HUGE understatement.  For the first time in awhile, I was anxious as I drove to the gym on Monday morning.  I even tried to take as long as possible to leave the house (maybe I would run out of time?).  I haven’t been this avoidant of the gym in YEARS.  Usually, it’s my one hour of the day that is about ME – and my own mindfulness.

But, I digress.

For my first workout this week, I decided to adjust the goal reps so I only had to complete 5 Burpees per set to allow my body to remember what it’s supposed to be doing!  Unfortunately, my fears were somewhat founded – I was sucking wind BIG TIME and still had to finish the circuit.  However, like in every other Impact workout, my body adjusted and I was able to complete 6 Burpees on the next set!  I made similar progress on Tuesday, and today, I completed 8 Burpees per set and I didn’t feel like I was about to die after I was done!

 

I’ll take it!

Kettlebell class tomorrow.  Can’t wait.

 

Leave a Reply

