Update on progress

I’m a couple days late on my “Update” post, but I had a bit of a family situation and a very sick husband to deal with this weekend! (Goals described here)

Progress in Cycle 2:

  • Lost a total of 8.2 pounds.  Not a dramatic loss this cycle, but I’m also suffering the effects of my TOM, so I’m not sweating it.
  • Had a much more successful maintenance day on Friday (and high day on Saturday).  I planned my meals with some good, healthy foods and only had a small treat – rather than filling my calorie allotment with junk.  I felt much better too.  I was also better with pre- and post-workout nutrition, which I described in more detail in this post.
  • My sleep has been good.  I’ve been making it a priority and shutting off electronics about a half-hour before I settle into bed.  I’ve been falling asleep fairly easily and waking up on my own most days.  This week will be a challenge, though, since my work schedule will be all over the place.
  • Still working on the emotional attachments with food.  I think this one will require a LOT of repetition.  I caught myself grabbing some unhealthy food this weekend when I became overwhelmed.
  • Self-care is a work in progress, but I’m getting better.  I had some really lazy moments this weekend, which would normally make me feel guilty, but I was careful not to judge myself and just understand that sometimes I need to slow down and rest.

Objectives:

  • I’m still following the cycling program accurately.  I did accidentally mix up a couple of the days, but it resulted in an increased deficit, so I didn’t really worry about it.
  • I still have 100% compliance with training.  One of my cardio workouts became snow-shoveling instead of my planned KB workout, but I still got the desired result.
  • I prepared a new recipe – Kale Chips – and it was HORRIBLE.  I didn’t even bother blogging about them.  There are about a million blog posts about them out there, so if you’re interested in them, hit up google.  (Why do people love these so much, by the way??  I’m a total veggie person and I could barely get them down!)  I will NOT be making them again, which is sad – Kale is so healthy!  I actually made an amazing new recipe yesterday, which will be part of my Cycle 3 check in, so stay tuned! 🙂  I’m not feeling bored with the diet – with the cycling, I’m actually able to eat a variety of foods – I just have to pay attention.  This isn’t like other diets I’ve followed that have required me to have a bunch of pre-planned meals that I just repeat every. single. day.
  • For fun, Jeb and I went to the movies.  We saw “The King’s Speech” which was really good.  We also watched some football.  Low key, but nice.
Leave a Reply

